(Web) TV Fan – The Lizzie Bennett Diaries

Leave a comment

April 7, 2013 by rachelcmann

Title page from the first edition of the first...

Title page from the first edition of the first volume of Pride and Prejudice (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

Remember when I had that movie marathon and watched Boondock Saints? Well I also watched the long form Colin Firth Pride & Prejudice because I had turned my friend onto this web series based on the book and she was horrified that I wasn’t that into Austen and couldn’t remember the general plot of the original.

 

Six hours later…I still like the modernized web series and now some of the parallels are more intriguing. Sometimes it is a bit contrived or awkward but it’s a little shocking how many of the dramas from an age gone by are still relevant. Basically the story of the Bennetts and their suitors boils down to perception. How we can so easily misinterpret each other and screw ourselves up.

 

The series has wrapped but it has 100 episodes to get you through. You don’t need to be a fan of Austen to get into it, one of the things that makes Pride and Prejudice a classic is that the themes are universal. Namely, boys and girls are different and falling in love is complicated.

 

 

Share your Thoughts!

About This Geek


I'm Rachel and I'm a geek. A nerd. A dork. Like most of us, I enjoy and consume a LOT of pop culture. This is my blog about things I like that I think you will like too.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

