Everything Else – Games – World of Warcraft

2

March 19, 2013 by rachelcmann

World of Warcraft

World of Warcraft is an MMORPG game that is massively popular and incredibly detailed. Jinx (from my post about Girls) is really into the game. Of her leisure time, she probably spends 90% of it playing WoW. She and her husband even had an in game wedding! Several years ago she got me hooked on it too. I was a casual player, just running around, releasing some aggression on trolls or whatnot. We would sit next to each other just playing and chatting, not even playing within the game together.

I’ve stopped and started my account a couple of times over the years (luckily Blizzard archives it for you so you don’t have to start over again from scratch) and this Christmas she gifted me a subscription for a couple of months. It’s about the only way for me to talk to her sometimes, so I finally got around to hooking everything up.

I have completely forgotten how to play! So I thought I would introduce you to it as I re-learn it myself. Basically, you create (roll) a character and then you go on an adventure. Your first choice is to be good or evil, then you choose your race and class (kind of like occupation, you can be a mage or warrior or a number of other things). There are a ton of possible combinations, and then you specialize what they look like and give them a name. This is your character or ‘toon.’ The game starts you off pretty easy, giving you quests that are pretty simple and you gradually work your way up. It’s a lot of fun, the world is

incredibly rich and there’s something really satisfying about leveling up and completing tasks. So much of what we do now is a carousel of repeating tasks and projects that we rarely get to see one project through from start to finish.

You can create multiple characters and the more you play you’ll discover preferences and probably have one character you play more than others, although not necessarily your first. There’s a lot more to the game including  huge group quests that take hours to complete

World of Warcraft en Ubuntu

World of Warcraft en Ubuntu (Photo credit: NeoDaVe)

and competition against individual players in an arena (PvP). If you’ve never played this kind of game before it can be intimidating. There’s a lot of lingo and people can be jerks sometimes. It’s also fun to play pretend. For $15 a month you can escape into a world and then control what happens to you. You can

be a hero or a villain or just run around killing things. (*Warning* the animals you kill make sad little sounds so if that bothers you like it bothers me turn off your sound)

It can be all consuming sometimes and you will absolutely lose track of time. There’s no clock in game and it completely takes over your screen (yay for monotasking?) so you may want to set an alarm or timer before you get sucked in. They often have free trials for new players so give it a shot!

2 thoughts on “Everything Else – Games – World of Warcraft

  1. jdh5153 says:

    No clock in game??? There’s a clock right under the mini-map…Maybe you have it turned off?

    I’ve played WoW on and off for about 4 years…Mostly off…. I’ve only ever hit level cap once, and that was during Cataclysm…. I played Mists until 89 and completely lost interest and let my subscription lapse yet again. I’m not so sure I’ll be going back…. I could sink a few hours into WoW and not really get anything out of it, or play The Sims or Sim City on my laptop while watching a movie or something. Lately I prefer the latter.

    -avideogamelife.com

    • rachelcmann says:

      You’re right! I just couldn’t see it! Well that should help me not get sucked in 😉
      I understand about letting your sub lap, I’m kind of the same way. I’m testing out Star Wars Old Republic to see if I like that. Thanks for the note about the clock!

Share your Thoughts!

About This Geek


I'm Rachel and I'm a geek. A nerd. A dork. Like most of us, I enjoy and consume a LOT of pop culture. This is my blog about things I like that I think you will like too.

Top Posts & Pages

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

