Movie Lover – Seven Psychopaths

1

March 15, 2013 by rachelcmann

Before I say anything else, let me say that I have a whole lot more respect for Colin Farrell than I used to, and I can’t remember why he gets such a bad rap anymore. In Bruges was great, I loved Fright Night and this was delightful as well. Well maybe delightful is the wrong word. There is a whole lot of blood in this movie. I wonder what their blood budget was…

Anyway, this film is kind of a movie within a movie and there are quite a few twists and turns along the way. I’m not a huge Christopher Walken fan, but he was pretty subdued here which was exactly what was needed. I’m getting really tired of Sam Rockwell‘s schtick though. I like him as an actor but I feel like I don’t even need to know the plot of the movie to know what character he’s playing. That said, his zany psycho is fun to watch and almostnotquite root for.

This movie was a perfect escapist gory flick to watch. It hits all the points you expect, touches on the cliches and then somehow makes them work. Woody Harrelson as the sensitive but ruthless gangster rounds out a cast of characters that are irredeemable. Except maybe for Farrells Marty. A lot of folks don’t like the film though, and I can see why. It takes a high degree of willingness to suspend belief and let the admittedly awkward plot take its course. But I never asked it to be serious or realistic or ‘good’ and so for me, it was just fine.

One thought on “Movie Lover – Seven Psychopaths

  1. […] Movie Lover – Seven Psychopaths (readwatchgeek.wordpress.com) […]

Share your Thoughts!

About This Geek


I'm Rachel and I'm a geek. A nerd. A dork. Like most of us, I enjoy and consume a LOT of pop culture. This is my blog about things I like that I think you will like too.

Top Posts & Pages

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

