Movie Lover – The Boondock Saints

1

March 9, 2013 by rachelcmann

So apparently I missed the whole Boondock Saints phenomenon in the 90s, but Sean Patrick Flannery and Norman Reedus were at the ComicCon I attended and a couple of my friends were shocked and horrified that I had never seen the film. So, movie in hand a friend came over and sat me down. I didn’t even really know what the movie was about, so I was pleasantly surprised to find it to be a relatively lighthearted vigilante justice movie with a minimum of gratuitous violence. Although I think my definition of gratuitous has changed in the last few years.

In addition to the sort of fun riff on violent gangster films, there was some really interesting film making happening. Even their visit from God (or a break in their psyche depending on how you want to look at it) avoids the cliche of white light and a fog machine. Although I didn’t know until watching some of the extra features that the boys are supposed to be twins, their mimicry of each others movements was fascinating to watch and really helped tell the story. I had to be reminded several times to not follow the plot literally, to let certain skips in reality pass by, but even with that there was a grittiness to it that I really enjoyed.

Nowadays compelling anti-heros are everywhere. House, Sopranos, Breaking Bad etc all feature someone who we shouldn’t root for. Even Arrow as a hero is a bit weak, particularly after watching a recent episode and seeing how many innocents he kills. Connor and Murphy are (probably) not the original anti-heros, but they are certainly at the beginning of the current glut, and they are pretty specific about only killing bad guys. They are thrust into the position of meting out street justice, albeit oddly prepared with a familiarity in a variety of languages and a comfort level with guns that surpasses your average Irish Catholic.

Final note, in the deleted scenes there is a scene in which the boys talk to their mother. It was cut from the film for reasons that seem pretty obvious re: pacing, but the scene is GREAT. Hilarious, touching, helps explain their personalities and as an extra special bonus, Sean Patrick Flannery is naked for the whole thing.

One thought on “Movie Lover – The Boondock Saints

  1. […] Remember when I had that movie marathon and watched Boondock Saints? Well I also watched the long form Colin Firth Pride & Prejudice because I had turned my friend onto this web series based on the book and she was horrified that I wasn’t that into Austen and couldn’t remember the general plot of the original. […]

Share your Thoughts!

About This Geek


I'm Rachel and I'm a geek. A nerd. A dork. Like most of us, I enjoy and consume a LOT of pop culture. This is my blog about things I like that I think you will like too.

Top Posts & Pages

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

