Movie Lover – Silver Linings Playbook

5

March 5, 2013 by rachelcmann

What an interesting film! Silver Linings Playbook was up for a couple Oscars, including Best Actress which Jennifer Lawrence won. And now that I’ve seen the film I can see why. The movie lags until she appears, and in all the scenes she’s not in. She is really great and I look forward to her future roles. Hunger Games included! All the actors are great and it’s nice to see Bradley Cooper continue to stretch his wings and do things outside of “handsome man.”

A man with undiagnosed bipolar disorder goes manic after catching his wife in the shower with another man. He flips out, goes to a state mandated psych ward and we pick up when he is released. The silver lining is a touchstone for him, finding optimism in things. Since I myself am known for finding the silver linings in situations, it was interesting to see what that looks like from the other side. You really wonder how someone’s brain can work so differently from your own. Another bright spot is the handful of scenes with Chris Tucker, who portrays a fellow patient. He is also unendingly cheerful, and although I can’t watch him without thinking of his seminal character in The Fifth Element I enjoyed him.

The movie is essentially about redemption and coming back from the brink which is a nice message for me these days. While the perfectly wrapped up happy ending may be cliche, it works for this movie. And I think we can all use a little more optimism these days.

5 thoughts on “Movie Lover – Silver Linings Playbook

  1. This movie is definitely on my “Must See” list. Thanks for the review!

  2. […] Movie Lover – Silver Linings Playbook […]

  3. […] Despite the steady state of the moving it’s very compelling, it’s quite a quiet film. I happen to enjoy films that don’t shout out their plot points at you, but it’s not for everyone. That said, it’s still got elements of an action movie and spy thriller. Ben Affleck did a great job directing and I think all of actors did a great job. Did Alan Arkin deserve the Oscar? I don’t know, but he was definitely my pick over De Niro in Silver Linings Playbook. […]

Share your Thoughts!

About This Geek


I'm Rachel and I'm a geek. A nerd. A dork. Like most of us, I enjoy and consume a LOT of pop culture. This is my blog about things I like that I think you will like too.

Top Posts & Pages

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

