Bookworm – February 2013

4

March 3, 2013 by rachelcmann

IMG_0222Lots of good stuff and quite a few in the reject pile.

Finished:

Unearthly by Cynthia Hand was good. Finally a book that does begin with the protagnist suddenly discovering she’s supernatural and has to goes through the trauma of her parents lying to her her whole life.

Incarnate by Jodi Meadows – Interesting premise but the poor girl cannot catch a break. I think there are more of these but I won’t be seeking them out.

The Color of Magic by Terry Pratchett – The Discworld series is intensely vast, but I wanted to start at the beginning. It’s an interesting world an I laughed out loud a few times but there’s a lot of magic to wrap your mind around.

The Garden of Iden by Kage BakerBlastr (I think) recently listed a bunch of great sci-fi series, 9 out of 10 of which I had never heard of. Probably because my taste swings towards dragons more than space ships. But several of them looked promising and this was the one my library had. Very compelling and a new mythology I’ve never come close to encountering before.

Bitterblue by Kristin Cashore – Having read the insanely popular Graceling a while back it took me a chapter or two to get back into this, but it was very enjoyable. Reminded my of one of my favorite series, the Allanna Lioness books by Tamara Pierce.

The Lost Code by Kevin Emerson – Really interesting mythology and I’m super curious to see where the next book goes. It’s kind of about Atlanteans. But set in a dystopian future. Sort of.

Necromancing the Stone by Lish McBride – See future post! This is the sequel to Hold Me Closer, Necromancer which I loved and I’ve been waiting and waiting for a sequel. Bring on a third!

Rejected:

Everneath – about ten seconds in it was all angsty teenager love triangle.

Dust Girl – despite good reviews it didn’t hold my attention after a few chapters.

Sway – Turns out I’ve read it already! It’s super interesting and I recommend it. If learning about how you think is interesting to you.

The Casual Vacancy by JK Rowling – I just couldn’t get into it.

IMG_0226The Art of War by Sun Tzu – I think I need the Clifnotes version.

Personal History by Katharine Graham – This book has been on my “to-read” list for a very long time. So long in fact that I no longer really want to read it apparently.

The Last Dragonslayer by Jasper Ffordes – Turns out I’ve read it already. But I highly recommend the author. His Tuesday books are great. And apparently there are more! Yay!

Still reading:

Immediate Fiction – I’ve been picking up books on writing and this is the only one I’ve stuck with. I’m learning a lot.

Imagine by Jonah Lehrer – I’m a fan of Lehrer, despite the controversy. I think his ideas are interesting, and if nothing else they make me think critically and I really enjoy that.

The Hobbit  by JRR TolkienI promised! So far I’m really enjoying it. I saw The Hobbit movie over Christmas when it came out and I can see where it diverged, but I enjoy the writing style and the story nonetheless.

 

4 thoughts on “Bookworm – February 2013

  1. […] Bookworm – February 2013 […]

  2. […] Bookworm – February 2013 (readwatchgeek.wordpress.com) […]

  3. […] I also finished Imagine and Immediate Fiction but I don’t have much more to say about them except that I enjoyed them and recommend them. […]

Share your Thoughts!

About This Geek


I'm Rachel and I'm a geek. A nerd. A dork. Like most of us, I enjoy and consume a LOT of pop culture. This is my blog about things I like that I think you will like too.

Top Posts & Pages

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

