Active v Passive – Participate in your Life

Leave a comment

February 21, 2013 by rachelcmann

A number of influences have gotten me thinking about how I interact with the world, and pushing me to be become more of an active participant in my future. Whether it’s my gender or generation or genetic temperament, I feel like I often wait for outside forces to move me. I’m not shy about taking a new job across the country or taking lessons in something I want to learn, but in my day to day life I am pretty darn boring. 

So many things in life are out of our control. While we can work hard and throw ourselves into our jobs, sometimes the big cheese decides you’re expendable. (ahem, no, I’m not bitter) No matter how many frogs you kiss or dating profiles you create, you still have rely on someone else to have a relationship. Nevermind the whole random hit by bus crossing the street classic unpredictability.

So, with all that philosophy and platitude in mind, I’ve tried to commit myself to being less reactive to what happens to me, and instead pushing toward something, otherwise known as being proactive. Trouble is, it’s hard to know what that something is. I have too many ideas, too many dreams. It’s the paradox of choice, and I am a whimsical brat sometimes. I’ve talked before about following your passion, but this is more than that. This is about taking the reins and not letting life pass you by. There are days when I want to stay a rock in the stream, letting the water roll past me without changing myself, but then I look downstream and seeing what might be there and wanting to uproot myself and go and see. I try not to be a ‘grass is always greener’ kind of gal, but there is something to be said for peeking over the fence. The pursuit of the horizon is what makes us human and I for one want to keep pushing into the sunset.

*how many life affirming metaphors can I use in one post?

Share your Thoughts!

About This Geek


I'm Rachel and I'm a geek. A nerd. A dork. Like most of us, I enjoy and consume a LOT of pop culture. This is my blog about things I like that I think you will like too.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

