Bookworm – January 2013

Leave a comment

February 2, 2013 by rachelcmann

Monthly installment of my library haul. Some books get abandoned or unfinished in the allotted month so the picture may have more books than the post.

The Alchemy of Forever by Avery Williams- Quick read, intriguing premise about immortality. Not enough to make me want to read the next one.

Naked Economics by Charles Wheelan- I’m not a fan of Economics, or at least I wasn’t in school but I liked Freakonomics and thought I would give this a try to deepen my understanding. *not done yet

Geek Love by Katherine Dunn- I don’t know why I thought this book was about geeks like me, but I’ve heard a lot of good things about it. Apparently a 20130131-150803.jpggeek is some kind of chicken murderer. The book is about a family who are circus freaks (on purpose). After getting over the horrifying idea that parents purposefully took drugs to guarantee that the children were born with defects, the book carries along at a decent pace. *not done yet

Sweet Venom by Tera Lynn Childs- Cute, about Gorgon descendants. Unfortunately their journey was a little abrupt and one of the main characters is insufferable.

The Pioneer Woman by Ree Drummond- Fun, quick read and I’m jealous of her writing style. It sort of falls off in the end though, doesn’t have the same poetry and rhythm of the earlier chapters.

Abandoned because they didn’t hold my my interest – The Mane Event by Shelly Laurenston- Too much romance (read: sex). I mean every page basically.

Nom de Plume by Carmela Ciuraru – This one was probably abandoned because the authors discussed weren’t ones I was particularly interested in. And it was a bit dry.

Mindsight by Daniel Siegel – Personally, I really enjoy books about behavior and brain science, but this one was a bit too heavy on the medical side of things for me to enjoy it.

I’ll Scream Later by Marlee Matlin – I really like Matlin as an actress, and while I skimmed most of this book it jumped around a lot and didn’t hold my interest like I thought it would.

Read my thoughts on The Indigo King and Tempest Rising in future posts. (They’re so good they get a separate post!)

Share your Thoughts!

About This Geek


I'm Rachel and I'm a geek. A nerd. A dork. Like most of us, I enjoy and consume a LOT of pop culture. This is my blog about things I like that I think you will like too.

Top Posts & Pages

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

