TV Fan – Some Shows Don’t Click

Leave a comment

January 29, 2013 by rachelcmann

English: Logo of the fictitious Dunder Mifflin...

English: Logo of the fictitious Dunder Mifflin paper company. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Due to my fandom of nearly all things TV, friends of mine will often suggest shows. Or most commonly, express shock when I say I don’t watch their favorite show. The top ones that come up are:

The Office – I have PTSD when I watch that show from my time in cubicle corporate hell.

Fringe – I’ve tried multiple times to get into it and just can’t. Maybe now that it’s over (and I can no longer really remember the beginning) I can give it another go.

Lost – Again, tried and failed. Even after the show had ended and I thought I could weave sense into the show now that I knew it led to something, I just couldn’t get into it.

Mad Men – Tried, and tried, and tried some more. I think this one has two main factors, the character Pete Campbell is so despicable and I’m not a big fan of the actor Vincent Kartheiser based off his work on Angel way back when. The characters seem very similar to me, whiny and petulant and in need of a good smack. At least in Angel he was supposed to be a confused teenager. The grown up Campbell has no excuse except being a jerk or maybe the actor doesn’t have the range to do something else.

Downton Abbey – I did watch Season 1, but haven’t progressed to Season 2. Partially because the character of Thomas makes me want to jump through my TV and strangle that guy. Lady Mary is not a whole lot better.

I’m not sure what the common thread is, if there is one, but in the writing of this it occurs to me that while I have characters on other shows that I loathe or actors I don’t particularly like, there are other redeeming qualities. For some reason, these shows don’t have enough other good stuff to overwhelm the things I find uninteresting or maddening.

So what else am I missing out on? Or what is it about these shows that turn me off? (or turn them off, ha punny!)

Share your Thoughts!

About This Geek


I'm Rachel and I'm a geek. A nerd. A dork. Like most of us, I enjoy and consume a LOT of pop culture. This is my blog about things I like that I think you will like too.

Top Posts & Pages

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

