TV Fan – Sherlock – BBC

5

January 24, 2013 by rachelcmann

Right now I’m a tiny bit obsessed with BBC’s Sherlock featuring Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman. I have developed a minor crush on Benedict. Which may or may not be why I have been watching all six episodes multiple times in the last month.

Benedict Cumberbatch as Sherlock Holmes

Steve Moffat and Mark Gatiss who created Sherlock are major fans of Arthur Conan Doyle and very familiar with the source material. It comes through in their writing and attention to detail and Easter Egg-y hints in the sets and costumes. While Moffat is great on Doctor Who as well, Sherlock seems to have an extra something special that he puts into it.

Sherlock makes me want to be smarter. Makes me seek out puzzles and makes me feel even more like an idiot when I do something dorky. Sherlock’s lack of social acumen is equally infuriating and endearing. His bromance with Dr. Watson allows us the rare glimpse of a genuine smile and his care for Mrs. Hudson makes his more monstrous qualities palatable. I don’t even really care about whatever crime he’s trying to solve. Like most of my favorite things, my love is for the characters and not the story of the week.

I cannot recommend this show highly enough. After a loooooong hiatus (stupid Hobbit) they will start shooting series 3 in March of 2013 and we’ll see episodes in the fall I hope. In the meantime, I’ll be watching the current episodes on repeat.

5 thoughts on “TV Fan – Sherlock – BBC

  1. […] TV Fan – Sherlock (readwatchgeek.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] mad about the Arthur Conan Doyle Sherlock Holmes stories, and their obsession bleeds into the series they’ve created. Joss Whedon seems to throw his whole body into his projects, nearly all of which ooze with the […]

  3. MINOR crush? If I was honest I would call my state of crush pretty obsesed and heavy :p
    hey from a fellow sherlockian
    xxx

Share your Thoughts!

About This Geek


I'm Rachel and I'm a geek. A nerd. A dork. Like most of us, I enjoy and consume a LOT of pop culture. This is my blog about things I like that I think you will like too.

Top Posts & Pages

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

