Bookworm – Confession – Lord of the Rings

1

January 21, 2013 by rachelcmann

Okay, don’t get the tar and feathers just yet, I am repentant and planning to rectify my error post-haste. Deep Breath – Here Goes

I’ve never read JRR Tolkien. None of it. Not The Hobbit and not Lord of the Rings.

Okay, I know that’s sacrilegious. And I’m not really sure why I have this lapse in my nerd-ucation. I vaguely recall an older male cousin of mine reading them when I was young, but my first big memory was going to see the midnight showing of the first movie when I was in college. All of my friends (who happened to be male) were going and I got dragged along. I didn’t dare tell them I hadn’t read the books.

And then I never got around to it. With the arrival of the new The Hobbit movie, I now feel like I should return to the source material. That, and a young adult series I’m wrapping up by James Owen (Here, There Be Dragons) whose main character has an interesting connection to Tolkien.

So in deference to the masters I will undertaken Tolkien in the next couple of months. I’ll let you know what I think!

One thought on “Bookworm – Confession – Lord of the Rings

  1. […] Hobbit  by JRR Tolkien – I promised! So far I’m really enjoying it. I saw The Hobbit movie over Christmas when it came out and I […]

Share your Thoughts!

About This Geek


I'm Rachel and I'm a geek. A nerd. A dork. Like most of us, I enjoy and consume a LOT of pop culture. This is my blog about things I like that I think you will like too.

Top Posts & Pages

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

